Bastille Day in Paris is a big deal.  There’s a massive military parade down the Champs Elysees and fireworks over the Eiffel Tower…  It was an impressive display of celebration and tradition.  But as I was watching, I suddenly realized that this summer I was missing one of my most treasured personal traditions:  summer on Cape Cod.

So what did I do?  What else but book a last-minute, sneak-trip back home.

Time slows down when you’re on the Cape.  A lazy beach day followed by a cookout and a trip to the Sundae School is my idea of relaxation.

Wandering through the Brewster General Store reminds me of our American tradition and the joys of penny candy…

All week, I couldn’t resist the urge to shout “AMERICA!” before indulging in a cheeseburger, pizza, or beer.

After living abroad for six months I have a better understanding of my American-ness. But one evening, as I walked down Hanover Street, Maura spotted a ridiculous t-shirt in the Connah Store that made us both laugh…

And made me realize that right now, my heart is in Paris.  A taste of America was just what I needed to bring me back.

