I have to admit, I’ve always loved London.  For me, it’s a city that combines history and modernity seamlessly. So while this great city works hard to prepare for the 2012 Olympics (and perhaps more importantly, the Queen’s Diamond Jubliee…)

I decided to go there for the long weekend to relax and spend time with Laura and Barry.  On the agenda?  Shopping, looking at flowers, eating desserts (of course) and… going to a rugby match.

So on a beautiful summer-y Saturday, we did a little shopping (one pair of polka dot pants- check!) and then went to the lovely Dorchester Hotel for some tea and sweets.

So we sipped champagne surrounded by beautiful roses and nibbled on charming flower-themed treats…

We quickly befriended Marvin, our generous and uber-professional waiter. And by the end of the tea we were treated to a tour of their kitchens.  This was a great experience for me, especially because we could see them in the height of their work preparing for “Dinner with Dionne.”  (That’s, Dionne, as in Dionne Warwick. Ha!)

Then Sunday brought us to Twickenham…  home of the RFU…

My generous and uber-professional friend, Barry, hooked us up with tickets. It was the first official rugby match for both Laura and I…

But the last one of the season…

So now as the rugby players (and Barry) settle in for their vacations.  I’ll get back to work on my almond-flavored roses…

But London, I’ll call you again soon…

