Time flies when you’re living in Paris!  I’ve been here for three months now and I thought it might be a good time to share with you some of my latest discoveries and favorite things.

  • Champagne, darlings!  Two weeks ago we took a field trip to Reims to visit the Pannier champagne vineyard.  They taught us a little about what they do and then we got to sample the bubbly.  It was fantastic!  Makes me think that I should be drinking champagne every day while I’m here!

  • To market, to market:  Every Sunday at the Bastille I do some grocery shopping at one of the city’s largest markets.  My favorite things to buy are fresh fruits and vegetables, cheese, saucisson, rotisserie chicken and, of course, bread.  Every day there are different markets happening all around the city.  I’ve been following the guide “Markets of Paris” by Dixon and Ruthanne Long.  It gives great background and info for all of the marches- food and otherwise.  (Thanks Brian and Laura!)

  • Step inside a Monet painting:  A 45-minute train ride will take you from Paris to Vernon, where you can rent bikes and cycle a short distance to Monet’s home and garden.  What a beautiful way to spend the day!

  • No… thank you!  A few weeks ago, Elise introduced Leilani and I to the most amazing store I’ve seen so far in Paris, Merci (http://www.merci-merci.com/).  If you love lovely things then step into this gorgeous space and imagine all of the amazing ways you’ll decorate your home and dress for all of the fancy Parisian parties you’ll throw.  A dream.

I have to admit that every day I’m finding new favorite things in Paris… but my favorite, favorite thing this week was getting to share them all with Erin and Matt.  There’s nothing like seeing loved ones bite into their first macaron or seeing them catch a glimpse of the Eiffel Tower for the first time.

Now if only I could find a way to make champagne more portable for those moments…  hmmm…  I’ll have to work on that for the next round of visitors.  Watch out Paris… Mom and Ginny land on Friday.

