Ever since I landed in Paris one of my favorite places to walk is through the Tuileries (gardens located between the Louvre and the Place de la Concorde which first opened to the public in 1667).  I will often go out of my way just to pass through this beautiful space.

This weekend I finally made the connection as to why I enjoy exploring it as much as I do.  It’s the statues.

Let me explain:  moving to a foreign country is glamourous and exciting… but it also brings to the surface a lot of fears, joys, concerns, and epiphanies.  I’ve found that I seem to zero in on different statues depending on my mood.

Sometimes I have days where I feel like this…

“I am the queen of pastry and I can conquer any challenge that comes my way!”

And other days when I feel like this…

“What the hell am I doing here?  I don’t speak French and I can’t make pate a choux.”

And another day I feel like this…

“Hmmm…  what should I do after school ends?  Open my own pastry shop?”  

And then this happens…

“Ahhh… I fell down the stairs in my apartment!”

So I Skype with family and friends and I feel like this…

Torn between here and home

But then I have to pinch myself and remember that for now…

Paris is my playground 

And I have to get out of my own way, clear my head, be present and enjoy every moment as I stroll through the Tuileries and remember that this is all part of the journey.

